Partnership Founders

Samuel J. Heyman
Founding Chairman, Partnership for Public Service, 2001-2009
(March 1, 1939-November 7, 2009)

Ronnie F. Heyman
Chairman, GAF Industries
and Honorary Board Member, Partnership for Public Service

Board of Directors

Our elected Board of Directors serves as volunteers and brings a diverse set of experiences to the Partnership. The Board guides our strategic priorities and helps to ensure our financial health by providing fiscal oversight and support of fundraising efforts.

Tom A. Bernstein
President, Chelsea Piers Management, Inc.
Chairman, Partnership for Public Service

Thad Allen
Executive Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton

Doug Conant
Founder and CEO, ConantLeadership
Former CEO and President, Campbell Soup Company

The Honorable Tom Davis
Director of Federal Government Affairs, Deloitte

Joel L. Fleishman
Professor of Law and Director, Heyman Center for Ethics, Public Policy, and the Professions, Duke University

W. Scott Gould
Senior Advisor, The Boston Consulting Group

Larry Heyman
CEO, The Heyman Enterprise

Lloyd Howell , Jr.
Chief Financial Officer, Booz Allen Hamilton

David J. Kappos
Partner, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

Sean O’Keefe
Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Airbus Group North America, Inc.

Steve Preston
CEO, Livingston International

Nancy Reardon
Senior Vice President and Chief Human Resources and Communications Officer (retired)
Campbell Soup Company

Cokie Roberts
Political Commentator, ABC News
Senior News Analyst, NPR News

Scott Rutherford
Director, McKinsey & Company

Max Stier
President and CEO, Partnership for Public Service

George W. Wellde , Jr.
Vice Chairman, Securities Division (Retired), Goldman Sachs & Company

Neal Wolin
Former Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Treasury

Board Members Emeriti

Since our inception, the Partnership has enjoyed the support and guidance of many exceptional and dynamic leaders. Their counsel and stewardship have been invaluable to our growth, evolution and impact. We are grateful for their dedication and contributions to our mission and proud of what they continue to do for our country.

John Bridgeland
President and CEO, Civic Enterprise
Co-Chair, The Franklin Project at the Aspen Institute

Beth Brooke-Marciano
Global Vice Chair, Public Policy, Ernst & Young LLP
Co-Chair, International Council on Women’s Business Leadership

Sheila Burke
Senior Public Policy Advisor, Baker Donelson
Adjunct Lecturer in Public Policy, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Richard Danzig
Vice chair, Board of Trustees, RAND Corporation
Member, The President’s Intelligence Advisory Board
Member, Homeland Security Advisory Council

Jonathan Fanton
President, Board of Directors, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

David Gergen
Professor of Public Service and Co-Director, Center for Public Leadership, Harvard Kennedy School
Senior Political Analyst, CNN

Robert Ingram
General Partner, Hatteras Venture Partners
Chairman, Board of Directors, Viamet Pharmaceuticals

Nancy Killefer
Partner, McKinsey & Company
Member, Board of Directors, Computer Sciences Corporation

James Loy
Senior Counselor, The Cohen Group
Member, Board of Trustees, Lockheed Martin

Peter Orszag
Managing Director and Vice Chairman of Investment Banking, Lazard
Nonresident Senior Fellow, Economic Studies, Brookings Institute

Susan Rice
U.S. National Security Advisor
Former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations

David Walker
Senior Strategic Advisor, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Chairman, Government Transformation Initiative

Advisory Board of Governors

Norman Augustine
Former Chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Diana Aviv
CEO, Feeding America

James A. Baker , III
Former U.S. Secretary of State

Jacquelyn M. Belcher
President and CEO, Options Unlimited, LLC

U.S. Senator Richard Blumenthal

Erskine Bowles
Former Chairman, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform

Bill Bradley
Former U.S. Senator

Paul Brest
Former President, William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
Professor of Law, Emeritus and Former Dean, Stanford Law School

Molly Broad
President, American Council on Education

Walter Broadmax
Distinguished Professor, The Maxwell School, Syracuse University

Richard H. Brodhead
President, Duke University

Dan Burton
Former U.S. Congressman

Jonathan Bush , Sr.
President and CEO, J. Bush & Company

Kathryn Bushkin Calvin
CEO, United Nations Foundation

Albert Carnesale
Chancellor Emeritus and Professor, University of California at Los Angeles

U.S. Senator Thomas R. Carper

Hodding Carter , III
Professor of Leadership and Public Policy, UNC

U.S. Senator Susan M. Collins

William M. Daley
Former White House Chief of Staff

Steven A. Denning
Chairman, General Atlantic LLC

Elizabeth Hanford Dole
Former U.S. Senator

Kenneth M. Duberstein
Chairman and CEO, The Duberstein Group

U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin

Michael D. Eisner
Founder, The Tornante Co.

Stuart E. Eizenstat
Partner, Covington & Burling

Roger Enrico
Chairman of the Board of Directors, DreamWorks Animation SKG, Inc.

Harold Ford , Jr.
Managing Director and Senior Client Relationship Manager, Morgan Stanley
Former Chair, Democratic Leadership Council

Norman Francis
President, Xavier University

Mark D. Gearan
President, Hobart & William Smith Colleges

Daniel R. Glickman
Senior Fellow, Bipartisan Policy Center

Stephen Goldsmith
Director, Innovations in American Government Program, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Amy Gutmann
President, University of Pennsylvania

Stephen B. Heintz
President, Rockefeller Brothers Fund

John L. Hennessy
President, Stanford University

Charles O. Holliday , Jr.
Former Chairman and CEO, DuPont

U.S. Representative Steny Hoyer
Maryland's 5th Congressional District

General P.X. Kelley
28th Commandant, US Marine Corps (Ret.)
Director, Saul Centers, Inc.

Alan Khazei
Founder and CEO, Be the Change, Inc.

Sharon King
Director of Ageing Programme, The Atlantic Philthropies

Joel I. Klein
CEO and Executive Vice President, Education Division, News Corporation

Wendy Kopp
Founder and Board Chair, Teach for America

Richard C. Levin
President, Yale University

Joseph Lieberman
Former U.S. Senator

Bernard Marcus
Co-founder, The Home Depot, Inc.

U.S. Senator John McCain

George Mitchell
Co-founder, Bipartisan Policy Center
Former Majority Leader, U.S. Senate

Former U.S. Representative James Moran
Virginia’s 8th Congressional District

Mario Morino
Co-Founder and Chairman, Venture Philanthrophy Partners

Robert J. O'Neill , Jr.
Executive Director, International City/County Management Association

Philip A. Odeen
Chairman, AES

Norman J. Ornstein
Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute

Eugene C. Patterson
Editor Emeritus, St. Petersburg Times

Bill Paxon
Senior Advisor, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

John E. Pepper
Former Chairman of the Board, The Walt Disney Company

Hugh Price
Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution

Admiral Joseph Prueher
Former U.S. Ambassador to the People's Republic of China
Consulting Professor, Institute for International Studies at Stanford University

Don Michael Randel
President, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Victoria Riskin
Chair of the Board of Trustees, Antioch University Santa Barbara
Founder, Human Rights Watch in Southern California

Charles O. Rossotti
Former Commissioner, Internal Revenue Service

Robert E. Rubin
Co-Chairman Council on Foreign Relations

Richard Schlosberg
Former President and CEO, Trustee, David and Lucile Packard Foundation

John Sexton
President, New York University

Mark Shields
Political Analyst, PBS NewsHour and Syndicated Columnist

Billy Shore
Founder and Executive Director, Share Our Strength

Lawrence H. Summers
Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury

Jeffrey Swartz
Former President and CEO, Timberland Company